Welcome John R. Lewis College Families

Welcome John R. Lewis College families!

Congratulations and welcome to John R. Lewis College!  We think your student made the best choice in deciding to come to UC Santa Cruz, John R. Lewis College and we hope that their transition and time here is transformative. 
 
We know that parents, guardians, family members, and other loved ones want to stay connected to your student. Check here for information, FAQs and events for families
 
Please enjoy this welcome video from Provost Flora Lu and Senior Director for College Student Life, Sarah Woodside Bury.
 

Updates

We wanted to share with families that UCSC has decided to bring back our SafeRide program. The nightly van service on our residential campus was stopped in 2020 shortly after the start of the pandemic. The revamped program will be managed by TAPS. Students will be able to go online, fill out a ride request, and a van will shuttle them anywhere on campus. Details are still being finalized, but organizers hope to have it up and running after the November holiday break. More details are coming soon!


Events

Stay tuned for more information about upcoming events! 


Recordings

Fall 2022 Family Gathering Recording
Please see the recording from our most recent zoom Q&A, and a list of resources mentioned below:

Housing & Student Life

Housing Email: 9housing10@ucsc.edu

John R. Lewis College Residential Life website: https://johnrlewis.ucsc.edu/residential-life/index.html

Dining: https://healthcenter.ucsc.edu/services/covid-19/

Changing Meal Plans: https://dining.ucsc.edu/res-hall-meal-plans/index.html#change

Slug Points: https://dining.ucsc.edu/res-hall-meal-plans/index.html#slugpointmealplans

Food Pantries: https://basicneeds.ucsc.edu/campus-resources%20/food.html

Terms & Conditions:  https://housing.ucsc.edu/pdf/2022-23-tc-undergrad.pdf

Student Code of Conduct: https://deanofstudents.ucsc.edu/student-conduct/student-handbook

Smoking & Tobacco Policies: https://policy.ucsc.edu/policies/BAS/BAS-007.html

 

Academics

John R. Lewis College Advising Email: jrlcadvising@ucsc.edu

John R. Lewis College Advising: https://johnrlewis.ucsc.edu/advising/index.html

Departmental Advisors: https://advising.ucsc.edu/about/major-advising/major-links.html

Key Dates: https://registrar.ucsc.edu/calendar/key-dates/index.html

FERPA: https://registrar.ucsc.edu/records/privacy/ferpa-for-parents.pdf

College Scholars Program: https://honors.ucsc.edu/honors-programs/college-scholars/index.html

How to Check AP Credit:  https://advising.ucsc.edu/procedures/apcreditcheck.html

Learning Support Services: http://www2.ucsc.edu/lss/

How to Talk to Professors Guide for Students: https://porter.ucsc.edu/advising/transfer-students/talk-to-faculty.html

Slug Success: https://slugsuccess.ucsc.edu/

 

Activities & Opportunities

College Nine & John R. Lewis College Newsletter: bit.ly/9jrl-news

College Nine & John R. Lewis College Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ucsc9_jrl/

College Nine & John R. Lewis College Events Calendar: https://calendar.google.com/calendar/u/0/r?cid=dWNzYy5lZHVfbWdhaTdwbmNhMHVwM3FwOGJ1b2lsNGt1MThAZ3JvdXAuY2FsZW5kYXIuZ29vZ2xlLmNvbQ

Practical Activism Conference: https://practicalactivism.ucsc.edu/index.html

John R. Lewis College Activities: :https://johnrlewis.ucsc.edu/cocurricular/index.html

John R. Lewis College Find Your Community website: https://johnrlewis.ucsc.edu/findcommunity/index.html

(H)ACER - Apprenticeship in Community Engaged Research: https://johnrlewis.ucsc.edu/hacer/about-hacer.html

Student Organizations: https://someca.ucsc.edu/organizations/index.html

Resource Centers: https://resourcecenters.ucsc.edu/

Recreation:  https://recreation.ucsc.edu/

Jobs & Internships: https://careers.ucsc.edu/student/jobs-internships/index.html

Handshake: https://careers.ucsc.edu/student/handshake-student-resources/index.html

Undergrad Research Opportunities: https://ugr.ue.ucsc.edu/

Student Volunteer Center: https://volunteer.ucsc.edu/

Career Success: https://careers.ucsc.edu/student/coaching/index.html

 

Financial Aid & Billing

Payment Due Dates: https://sbs.ucsc.edu/payments_billing/Billing.html

Financial Aid: https://financialaid.ucsc.edu/index.html

Slug Support: https://deanofstudents.ucsc.edu/slug-support/program/

 

Transportation

Santa Cruz metro: http://www.scmtd.com/en/

TAPS:https://taps.ucsc.edu/

Campus Busses & Shuttles: https://taps.ucsc.edu/buses-shuttles/index.html

Carpooling: https://taps.ucsc.edu/commute-options/carpooling.html

ZipCar:https://taps.ucsc.edu/commute-options/zipcar.html

SJC Airport Shuttles: https://taps.ucsc.edu/travel/airport-shuttles.html

 

Campus Safety

CruzAlert (for affiliates only: student, staff, & faculty): https://oes.ucsc.edu/cruzalert/

CruzAlert messages are also posted to main UCSC webpage: http://www.ucsc.edu

Emergency Management: http://oes.ucsc.edu

Public Safety Dispatch: https://police.ucsc.edu/services/dispatch.html

Text to 911: https://police.ucsc.edu/crime-prevention/alerts/community-alerts-current/alert-121020.html

Community Safety Program: https://housing.ucsc.edu/safety/

 

Health & COVID-19 Resources

Health E-Messenger: https://healthcenter.ucsc.edu/information/health-e-messenger-new.html

Student Health Center COVID resources: https://healthcenter.ucsc.edu/services/covid-19/

Slug Strong: https://slugstrong.ucsc.edu/

Dining COVID protocols: https://dining.ucsc.edu/covid-19/index.html

Counseling & Psychological Services:  https://caps.ucsc.edu/


Email Contacts:

Sarah Woodside Bury, Senior Director of College Student Life: sarahcw@ucsc.edu

Flora Lu, Provost: floralu@ucsc.edu

Siobhán Byrne, Associate Director of College Student Life: sbyrne@ucsc.edu

Santos, Assistant Director of College Student Life: santoss@ucsc.edu

Adrian Campos Arenas, Lead Academic Preceptor: adacampo@ucsc.edu


Resources 

This section contains resources for the family members/support people of our College Nine and John R. Lewis College students. Please click the links to learn more!
UCSC Family Guide for info regarding Admissions, Requirements, etc.
UCSC Families website for tons of helpful information, FAQs and important website links!